The Lady and Her Butler

In other news, I read all of The Lady and Her Butler in the last couple of days. And boy, what a read it was! Honestly, this has been an excellent year for me and webtoons, and this has got to be one of my favourites I’ve read this year. Don’t get me wrong, the initial premise is right out of a bad Korean/Chinese drama but its execution on all the characters, their arcs, and how they act and react to their situations is just delightful. The main couple is adorable, both carrying mountains worth of baggage but the way the webtoon shows them working through each issue and problem as it occurs is one of the best I’ve read (not every day you have a mini-arc detailing and deconstructing the aspects of toxic masculinity the male romantic lead’s stuck with (he’s honestly just the sweetest); it’s not every day you see that sort of character in tears over his emotions and repression of them, along with the conflict and heartache it causes him (not in an angsty way either). It helps that almost every single character in this story is so attractive. So. Much. Eyecandy.

Black Bishop, December 2020

Leave a comment