Fragments of Horror

Junji Ito’s Fragments of Horror ( https://www.mangaupdates.com/series.html?id=93374 ) was a great collection of horror stories. I think it might be my most liked collection of his short stories so far. It contains stuff ranging from simply weird to somewhat disgusting to outright crazy to heartwarming.

Lingering Farewell , Black Bird and Whispering Woman are the ones that hit me the most. Lingering Farewell especially since it was the heartwarming one and I love heartwarming stories. The pretty amazing in it is the twist and how the twist keeps changing the direction of the story until the end. It’s also interesting the mysterious and horrific feeling that every story manages to give out, captivating the reader even as you know full well that weird, horrific shit is going to be going down, and soon but you want to keep reading to see what will come next.

I’m sure any horror fan or Ito’s fan has already read it and I’m the one late to the party here, but if someone hasn’t read it or even if someone isn’t a big horror fan (I’m not one either), give it a chance, it’s decidedly worth your time investment.

Lain, September 2018

Leave a comment